London Irish Wild Geese 12, Tonbridge Juddians RFC 28

This weekend saw the Geese take on the in-form Tonbridge Juddians at Hazelwood. The Geese looked to complete a double on the visitors which would be the first of this season. The Geese saw several changes due to injuries, most notable was the absence of club captain Scott Moore, yet these changes saw the return of second row Callum Haggett, backrow Joe Touma and hooker Jack Cohen.

The game started of with some kicking battles, but it was the visitors who controlled most of the first half possession, however it was the Geese who opened the scoring from a crossfield kick which was knocked back by left wing George Owen for fullback Peter Hodgekinson to touch down. Tonbridge took advantage of some ill-discipline by the Geese to convert three of four penalty kicks at goal into points making it 5-9. The visitors again added to their tally with a pick and drive try late in the first half to bring the score to 5-16. However, as the half ended, Tonbridge were hit with a red card for their starting tight-head prop for headbutting.

The second half started much the same as the first with Tonbridge controlling possession but again it was the Geese who struck first with a excellent try scored by open side flanker Tyler Bush from some very good offloading and support play leaving the score at 12-16. The Geese didn’t do themselves any favours as penalty after penalty went against them allowing the visitors to score two more tries, one from a scrum on the Geese 5m line and the other from a quick tap penalty. The game ended with the Geese fighting to get something from the game but unfortunately the result was final. The final score at 12-28 for Tonbridge.

London Irish Wild Geese
1. Charlie Connor
2. Jack Cohen
3. Ziana Alexis
4. Sam Hobbins
5. Callum Haggett (Captain)
6. Joe Touma
7. Tyler Bush
8. Harry Rowland
9. Chico U’Chong
10. Alex Seers
11. George Owen
12. Charlie Broughton
13. Chris Hitchcock
14. Sean Cunningham
15. Peter Hodgekinson

16. Zaki Chamnaoui
17. George Dean
18. George Drye
19. Archie Mackay
20. Joe Price