Taunton 31, London Irish Wild Geese 24


After a two week break for the Geese it was time for the return fixture away to Taunton Titans, who the Geese scalped earlier in the season at Hazelwood. The first half did not go well for the Geese as the hosts managed to run four tries in to secure a bonus point at the half way stage. However, the Geese did not finish the half scoreless, as newly returned try machine Reon Joseph somehow managed to score even with 3 defenders having a hold of him 20 metres out. The first half ended with the Titans looking strong at 28-5.

The second half showed just what the Wild Geese are about and how they can put the fear of losing into a top 5 side, as after some excellent pressure from two well worked maul drives, the Geese were awarded two penalty tries making the score 28-19. With the Geese only 9 points adrift, substitute tight-head Henry Paul crashed his way over the line to secure at least 1 point for the visiting Geese. The drama did not end as Taunton had two players yellow carded for the penalty tries and more shockingly a red card was shown to their star No.8 for punching off the ball on substitute backrow Courtney Raymond.

With Taunton feeling the pressure as the Geese were only 4 points behind and with 10 minutes to go they elected to take a shot at goal to try and ease the pressure making it 31-24. Unfortunately, the Geese could not fully complete what would have been an amazing comeback and the game ended at 31-24 to Taunton, but the Geese showed yet again they do have the talent and ability to beat the top of the table sides. The second half performance was a much-improved showing from the past few games against Wimbledon and Broadsteet. Next up is Redruth on St. Patricks day and let us hope the luck of the Irish rubs off on the Geese. HONK HONK.


London Irish Wild Geese

  1. George Dean
  2. Zaki Chamnaoui
  3. Charlie Connor
  4. Callum Haggett
  5. George Drye
  6. Joe Touma
  7. Scott Moore (Captain)
  8. Daniel Ianus
  9. Daniel Grant-Adamson
  10. Alex Seers
  11. Reon Joseph
  12. Sean Cunningham
  13. Brad Meeson
  14. Russell Bennett
  15. George Owen



  1. Henry Paul
  2. Harry Roffey
  3. Sam Hobbins
  4. Courtney Raymond
  5. Joe Price