London Irish Wild Geese 53, Old Redcliffians 22

The Wild Geese took on Old Redcliffians today in Hazelwood in the second home game of the season, in a game the Geese looked to avenge the loss away to Broadstreet last weekend.

The Geese looked to be in control of the game running in 6 tries in the first half from Reon Joseph (2), George Owen (1), Peter Hodgekinson (1), Tom Barker (1) & Charlie Broughton (1). However, the excellent display of attacking rugby in the first half was brought down by the sin binning of captain Scott Moore with only minutes left in the half, but the first half ended with the Geese firmly in front at 36 – 8.

The second half got off to a slow start, with the visitors scoring first from a Geese scrum in their own 22 going amiss, to make the score 36-15 after 10 minutes. However, the Geese quickly answered back with a try of their own scored by George Owen for his second try, after a number of attacking phases put together by the Geese, putting the Geese past the 40 points mark at 41-15. The Geese then scored another try 6 minutes later by some brilliant footwork and strength by winger Reon Joseph (3) to get his hat trick of tries, edging the Geese ever closer to the 50-point mark at 48 – 15.

The Geese increased their lead to break the 50-point mark with a try scored by centre Charlie Broughton for his second try, which came about from a turnover on the half way line, bringing the score to 53 – 15. However, with the game won, and the 5-point win almost certain, the visitors got their third try from a penalty try from a scrum infringement, giving them some hope of getting a try bonus point, and bringing the final score to 53 – 22.

The second half was also marred by two more sin bins for the Geese, to replacements Zaki Chamnaoui and Sam Gibbons. Overall, a great attacking display of taking the chances when they come, by the Geese, but also a much better defensive performance by the Geese.

London Irish Wild Geese Team:
1. George Dean
2. Brad Clements
3. Charlie Connor
4. Callum Haggett
5. Sam Hobbins
6. Archie MacKay
7. Tyler Bush
8. Scott Moore (Captain)
9. Tom Barker
10. Alex Seers
11. George Owen
12. Sean Cunningham
13. Charlie Broughton
14. Reon Joseph
15. Peter Hodgekinson
16. Jack Cohen
17. Zaki Chamnaoui
18. Joe Touma
19. Sam Gibbons
20. Brad Meeson